My Experience with the Sisters, Daughters of St Paul, Juba

I am grateful to share with you briefly about my experience when I visited the Daughters of St Paul for the first time and how I really felt.

I started to desire to become a sister, when I was in primary five, but all seemed like a joke to some of my family members. The desire kept on growing deep in my heart, and it became even stronger when I encountered some sisters; “The Sisters Servants of the Holy Spirit (SSps),  Rev. Sr. Mercy Bernson and the late Rev. Sr. Veronika Rasckova”, who had visited my Diocese and particularly at Christ the King Parish in Yei. I got the chance of sharing with them, so they advised me to finish my Senior Four (S.4) first. It was there that I got the courage and worked harder in my Studies. Hence, I completed my Senior Four (S.4) in May, 2022.

Later on I shared my dreams and aspirations with my Bishop, Rt. Rev. Alex Lodiong Sakor. When I asked him, which congregation I should join?  He indicated to me two congregations, “the Daughters of St. Paul,” and “the Sacred heart Sisters” of which I chose to join the Daughters of St. Paul. After getting into contact with the sisters, the Bishop informed me that I would travel to Juba on the 29th Nov, 2022 to meet the sister of the Daughters of St Paul and get to know more about them.

I warmly welcomed the invitation with immediate effect. I immediately said, yes, I will go, but I felt nerves because it was going to be my first time travelling by air and also to meet the sisters in their Community. I also spoke about my concerns with our deacon Justin Salah Juma who really encouraged me to have confidence and to be strong in my faith and no need of panic. With that confidence I set out to meet the sisters.

Truly, I  had  a nice experience with the sisters in the community for the few days I stayed with them. I  felt that the desire I had was now becoming a reality.  I learned a lot, especially the prayers and also leading the Rosary. I am very grateful to have this experience on my first visit to the community of the Daughters of St Paul in Juba. I felt like not returning back to Yei because I was already getting used to the sisters in the Community by then.  I now see them as a family, and I pray that the Lord’s will may be done. I eagerly await the day I can join the sisters and become one of them fully.

Agnes Sony Paul, Aspirant.

Leave a comment