Sr. Noel Lucy Nangira, Fsp.

One of the many blessings and opportunities as a missionary is to share the joy of the Gospel with the people all over the world. As a missionary in Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, Nairobi and South Sudan, I experienced different cultures, religious beliefs, languages, weather and even food. The objective of embracing the missionary life is to preach and live the Word of God, so that it reaches everyone, especially those on the existential and thought peripheries.

I had a touching experience when I was in South Sudan, an Arabic speaking community. Being the Pauline Year of the Bible, I was introduced into giving seminars and inputs on the Word of God. Most of the Christians were interested and yearning to listen to the Word of God explained to them. Language was no longer a barrier, since there was always a person who would translate my message. This gave me the strength to be with the people and to live among them.

Another unforgettable experience I had was going for book displays in different parishes, whereby I met various people, young and old. These people were all yearning for the Word of God. I felt that they understood that they are part of the universal Church and that they are missionaries too, in their own countries.

This experience brought me back to when I was aspiring to become a Daughter of St. Paul.  I would buy books from the Sisters to read, and radio cassettes listen to Christian music. Little did I know that those were the early days of my preparation for this ministry. I realize today that that was the joy of the Gospel, not a job to accomplish that gave me fulfilment as I represent each of the Sisters, the Congregation and the people whom they are serving, near or far.

It is the virtue of generosity that allows us to become fully human.  By nature, we are made to love, loving our neighbours whose culture and language and way of life may be different from ours. Not only are we to be generous with our financial resources, but we are also invited to be generous in everything that we do.

It’s a delight to hear from the people who are grateful that they are part of the mission of Christ, even if they don’t go to the mission territories. Through their financial support and prayers, his mission continues to spread to the ends of the earth. I thank the Lord each day for all these hidden missionaries as together we help to build the Kingdom of God.

Leave a comment